Texoma Audubon Society created by the Southeastern group


A group of professors from Southeastern Oklahoma State University and others with a common interest in birds recently came together to form the Texoma Audubon Society.

The Texoma Chapter is the brainchild of Southeastern ornithologist and biology professor Doug Wood, and Tony Goza, a local businessman and avid bird enthusiast. The Texoma Audubon Society is officially recognized by the National Audubon Society.

About 30 people attended the group’s organizational meeting, with Southeastern well represented by a number of faculty members. Wood is chairman, while Goza is vice chairman. Board members with connections to the Southeast include Vice President Academic Affairs Teresa Golden, Jeri Walker, Professors Emeritus Bryon Clark and Margaret Avard, Mike Davis, Katy Davis, Randy Prus and Stephanie Prus.

The chapter’s mission is to educate local communities on issues related to bird conservation. The Texoma chapter will collaborate with government agencies, such as the Corps of Engineers, the US Fish and Wildlife Service, and the Texas and Oklahoma Departments of Wildlife, as well as with local schools and non-government groups. Public presentations, workshops and field trips are also planned. With a focus on conservation, the chapter will also host events such as garbage cleanup and habitat restoration.

Membership fees are $ 30 per year, $ 10 for students. Anyone interested in joining is encouraged to visit

https://texomaaudubon.org for more information.


Leave A Reply